Tuesday, July 14, Olhao, Portugal

I spent a few days in the doldrums. Mainly I was frustrated that Lonely Planet wouldn’t confirm my Morocco tour. As the days passed I envisioned a big bill for airfare to Marrakech since I’d be buying the ticket just a day or two before leaving.

But things worked out. They finally confirmed and I was able to figure out an economical way to get to Marrakech. Tomorrow morning I board a train here to Lisbon (six hours, $20). Then I’ll take a short bus ride to the airport for a plane to Morocco ($220). I found a nice place via Airbnb in Marrakech where I’ll spend two nights before joining the LP tour on Friday morning.

I went on a nice tour to some barrier islands south of Olhao. Here is our guide showing us a sea cucumber that he found around the docks
I went on a nice tour to some barrier islands south of Olhao. Here is our guide showing us a sea cucumber that he found around the docks.

My Airbnb host here was great and we had some nice conversations over gin & tonic’s. Olhao is a peaceful seaside town of about 10,000, swollen by thousands of summertime tourists. I did some swimming and some kayaking but overall this wasn’t the most exciting place I’ve ever been. Portugal is a well-run, modern European nation which means there hasn’t been much drama. I’m happy to be going to a new place tomorrow.

I got someone to take my photo to prove I'm not actually in Nebraska.
I got someone to take my photo to prove I’m not actually in Nebraska.
I like this painting I saw in the museum in Evora. Just thought I'd throw it in here.
I like this painting I saw in the museum in Evora. Just thought I’d throw it in here. It’s by a 16th century Portuguese painter 
Published by

Jerry Heverly

I'm a high school English teacher from San Leandro High School in California.

Leave a Reply

